NOTICE: DON’T TAKE THE RE-CERTIFICATION COURSE PRIOR TO YOUR 90 DAYS FROM EXPIRATION.
Hours required: Minimum 6 hours (2.5 hours Lecture, 3.5 hours practical, although additional hours are recommended)
Students: Texas Private Security Level III License Holders
Pre-Requisites: Private Security Level III certification
Texas Department of Public Safety Regulatory Services Division
The Department’s most current version training material shall be used by all Commission approved Level III training schools.
All students of a Level III training school shall be tested with the most current version examination prepared by and obtained from the Department.
The passing grade of all written examinations shall be a minimum of 75% correct answers.
The passing rate for firearms qualification shall be a minimum of 70%.
On September 1, 2017, House Bill 1508 (85th Leg., Reg. Sess.) becomes effective. This bill places requirements on entities offering educational training programs that prepare an individual for an initial occupational license. This includes level III and level IV training schools, as well as guard companies that offer in-house level II training. These training providers must notify each enrollee of the following:
• The potential ineligibility of an individual who has been convicted of a criminal offense;
• The department’s current eligibility guidelines (the board’s administrative rules) issued under Occupations Code, Section 53.025;
• Any other state or local restriction or guideline used by the department to determine the eligibility of an individual who has been convicted of an offense; and
• The right to request a criminal history evaluation under Occupations Code Section 53.102.
Pursuant to HB 1508, if an individual is denied an occupational license based on their criminal history and the training provider failed to provide the individual the above information, the training provider will be required to refund the amount of any tuition paid and corresponding application and examination fees.
For purposes of compliance with these requirements, it is recommended training schools and other licensees that offer in house level II training communicate the following text directly to the prospective applicant, whether by email or other correspondence, or on the application for admission to a course.
“Please be advised under the Private Security Act (Occ. Code Chapter 1702) and Administrative Rule 35.4 (37 Tex. Admin. Code 1), a criminal conviction may disqualify you from a registration, commission or license under the Act. You may wish to review Rule 35.4’s list of disqualifying offenses and the related periods of ineligibility, available on the department’s website at http://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/psb/index.htm (click on the link to Administrative Code). You also have a right to request from the department a criminal history evaluation letter under Occupations Code Section 53.102.”
This course has been designed to meet or exceed the Texas Department of Public Safety’s Private Security Bureau (PSB) requirements for continuing education curriculum for the Level III Commissioned Security Officer’s re-certification in accordance with Chapter 1702 of the Texas Occupations Code.
After successful completion of the on-line training, the officer must qualify with a revolver/semi-auto pistol with a PSB approved firearms instructor to complete the re-certification process.
Please refer to the preferred training site for a PBS approved firearms instructor to complete the recertification process.
Note: Licensed Managers may take the course to fulfill 6 hours of continuing education (CE) credits towards maintaining their Manager’s License.
THIS ON-LINE TRAINING INCLUDES THE FOLLOWING:
- Laws and Regulations
- Field Notes and Report Writing
- Crime Scene
- Cover and Concealment
- Use of Force
- Conflict Resolution
- Level III re-certification exam
The student will receive a printed certificate of completion after the successful completion of the course.